• 2018
    • Management: Ferrè, Vainieri, Giacomelli e Nuti
  • 2017
    • Economics: Matteo Lippi Bruni, Irene Mammi, Cristina Ugolini;
    • Management: Lucia Leporatti, Marta Ameria, Chiara Trincherio; Patrizia Orcamo; Marcello Montefiori
  • 2016
    • Economics: Aleksandra Torbica, Stefano Calciolari, Giovanni Fattore.
    • Management: Anna Prenestini, Stefano Calciolari, Federico Lega, Roberto Grilli
  • 2015
    • Economics: Elisa Iezzi, Matteo Lippi Bruni, Cristina Ugolini.
    • Management: Patrizio Armeni, Amelia Compagni, Francesco Longo


AIES’s Young Researchers prize has been created to recognize Italian research excellence by young scholars in the field of health economics and management. The Award is dedicated to Italian under 35 years old author(s) that is presented in the special session at the AIES Annual conference. All authors must be younger than 35 years old to be eligible for the award.
The Award committee evaluates the papers by under-35 in terms of importance and originality of the contribution. The paper is awarded each year during the AIES annual conference.

Most recent Award Winners

2023: E. Zai e Y. Liu, paper “The unintended effects of Medicaid aging waivers on informal caregiving”

  • 2020 Jill Furzer “ADHD Misidentification in school: Causes and mitigators” and William Schpero “The long run effect of medicaid on receipt of public assistance”
  • 2019 Monica Aswani, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Differential Impact of Hospital and Community Factors on Medicare Readmission Penalties.
  • 2018 Mujaheed Shaikh and Tobias Muller (Austria/Switzerland),Your retirement and my health behavior: Evidence on retirement externalities from a fuzzy regression discontinuity design.
  • 2017 Raf Van Gestel, University of Antwerp, and Tobias Müller, University of Lucerne, Does My High Blood Pressure Improve Your Survival? Overall and Subgroup Learning Curves in Health.
  • 2013 Joseph Dieleman, IHME, University of Washington, Measuring the displacement and replacement of government health expenditure.
  • 2011 Ranjeeta Thomas, University of York, Conditional cash transfers to improve education and health: an ex ante evaluation of Red de Protección Social, Nicaragua
  • 2009 Pedro Rosa Dias, University of York. Inequality of opportunity in health: evidence from a UK cohort study.
  • 2007 Stephanie von Hinke Kessler Scholder, University of Bristol, Maternal employment and overweight children: does timing matter?
  • 2005 Teresa Bago d’Uva, University of York, Latent class models for utilization of health care.
  • 2003 Paula Gonzalez, Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Sevilla, Should physicians’ dual practice be limited? An incentive approach.
  • 2001 Nazmi Sari, Boston University, Do managed care and competition improve quality? Evidence from US hospital markets.
  • 1999 Mathias Kifmann, Universität Konstanz, Community rating in health insurance and different benefit packages.



The International Health Economics Association (iHEA) is pleased to invite nominations for the Annual Student Paper Prize in Health Economics. Nominations should include a brief letter of nomination (250 words max) and a copy of the paper (pdf).

A student is defined as someone currently studying (full or part time) at a higher education institution, at either Masters or Doctoral level. In addition, students who have completed their studies in the year previous to the announcement qualify as long as the paper was written while registered as a student.

Papers can be published or unpublished, but must be in comparable format to a published paper in Journal of Health Economics or Health Economics, of maximum length 8,000 words. Self-nomination is acceptable. Papers should be in English. If a submitted paper has more than one author, the student contribution must be at least 75% overall and an accompanying letter must be signed by co-authors to support this, stating the nature of their contribution (conceptualization, analysis, writing etc.). A joint student paper with 50-50 contributions is acceptable. Previous winners are not eligible. Papers will be reviewed by an International Committee chaired by Bruce Hollingsworth.

The Prize will be free registration for the virtual 2021 iHEA Congress to present the paper in a Student Prize Special Organised Session chaired by the iHEA President, or Chair of the Prize Committee, a cash prize and the offer (if the author wishes, and the paper is unpublished) of potential fast track publication in Health Economics, subject to Editorial approval. The papers in 2nd and 3rd place will receive a small cash prize and free registration for the 2021 iHEA Congress. They will be invited to give brief presentations at the iHEA Congress Student Prize Special Organized Session.

Please submit nominations, and address queries by email to:

Most recent Award Winners

There was a tie for the 2020 First Prize, so we are awarding two prizes: Jill Furzer and William Schpero.

  • 2019 Valerie Moran and Rowena Jacobs
  • 2017 Marguerite E. Burns, Barbara L. Wolfe
  • 2015 Roland Sturm, Deborah Cohen
  • 2013 Pinka Chatterji, Sara Markowitz
  • 2011 Michael E. Foster
  • 2009 Bruce Rosen, Nurit Nirel, Revital Gross, Shuli Brammli-Greenberg, Noa Ecker
  • 2007 Vidar Halsteinli, Sverre A.C. Kittelsen, Jon Magnussen
  • 2005 Sara Markowitz, Pinka Chatterji, Robert Kaestner
  • 2003 Eric Slade and David Salkever


The WILLARD MANNING AWARD – 2021 will be assigned on the basis of scientific merit to one article
published in The Journal of Mental Health Policy and Economics during the years 2019 and 2020 (Vol. 22 and Vol. 23).
All the articles accepted by and published in the Journal during the years 2019 and 2020 are eligible for participation.

Detailed and complete information about the WILLARD MANNING AWARD – 2021 is available at


The Ceremony of the WILLARD MANNING AWARD – 2021 will proclaim the Winner during the “Fifteenth Workshop on Costs and Assessment in Psychiatry – Mental Health Services, Economics, Policy Research”, Venice, March 26-28, 2021. The information about the meeting is available at

Most recent Award Winners


AIES & Fondazione Farmafactoring Award has been created to recognize Italian research excellence in the field of health economics and management. The AIES & Fondazione Farmafactoring Award is dedicated to Italian author(s) that published their study in one of the top international journals during the former year.
The Award committee evaluates the published papers in terms of importance and originality of the contribution, the number of coauthors, and the relevance of the journal.
The best paper in the field of health economics and the best paper in the field of management are awarded each year during the AIES annual conference.

Most recent Award Winners

2019 Best published paper in Health Economics
Di Novi Cinzia, Piacenza Massimiliano, Robone Silvana & Turati Gilberto (2019). “Does fiscal decentralization affect regional disparities in health? Quasi-experimental evidence from Ital”y. Regional Science and Urban Economics, 78, 103465.